Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, first message, please be gentle :) I'm not a car expert, but I have a technical background.

I'm trying to learn about a 2008 XF Premium Luxury (RHD, UK), which I have recently bought privately. It tested fine, no warning lights etc. There was a problem with auto-locking the right two doors, and both right windows didn't open. I took it to a local garage to repair the driver's door lock and the window mechanism, and both are now fine. The rear right lock and window still don't work automatically, but that's not a priority. They also replaced the original Jaguar battery (13 years old) with a brand new Yuasa 3000. I would have preferred the 5000 but anyway.

This is where it starts.

About a week ago I went to start the car and the battery was totally flat - I must have left the boot or door slightly open or something, I think a light had totally drained the battery. After a jump start the car seemed fine - thought I've read a lot about electronics going wrong after battery changes/discharges. I drove it for about 12 hours last weekend with no problems until 2 days ago, when a red warning came on whilst braking on a main road: "Unable to apply parking brake" with a flashing red ( ! ) indicator and a solid amber ( ! ) indicator.

I have tried to reset it by disconnecting the battery for a minute, reconnecting, turning on the car and applying the EPB as instructed. The dashboard indicates that the EPB has applied (with a ( ! ) ) but it also displays ( ! ) and "Parking Brake Fault." Assuming it is applied, when I drive off the brake is released and the red light goes off, but then the original "Unable to apply parking brake" message comes up.