Jaguar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for new tyres, as I am new to owning a Jag Sportbrake S what should I go for.
255/35r20 have quite a selection of summer tyres but how do these handle our wonderful winters. Looked for all season but none in this size.
Do not want winter tyres as I think the rear torque will kill them as soon as it warms up in spring.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated

·
Super Moderator
27,214 Posts
I ran two sets of wheels on my old car. One for summer and one for winter. Nokian tyres in the winter.

On my R-S I haven't bothered. Running MPS4S all year round.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How do the MPS4S wear. Are they ok through the winter? Was looking at these but also the Conti CS6.
Currently the car has Conti CS5P which I think was the original fit but they seem to be wearing.
Going to have four wheel alignment done as well just to tick the box

·
Registered
5,826 Posts
I got maybe just north of 20,000 miles on the rear of my 3.0D 'S' Matt, which is always carrying a fair ol' weight in the back and I don't drive for economy.

No problems in the winter for me but as I said mine is stuck to the road more due to the weight.

Do get the four wheel alignment done, it can make a big difference.. make sure they do the back first.

·
Registered
5,640 Posts
How do the MPS4S wear. Are they ok through the winter? Was looking at these but also the Conti CS6.
Currently the car has Conti CS5P which I think was the original fit but they seem to be wearing.
I got 22k out of my last rears in 18 months. Fronts did 35k and just over half-worn before a knackered control-arm bush scrapped one. Can't grumble at that!

·
Super Moderator
27,214 Posts
I've had no issues with wear, they wore much better than the Pirelli's they replaced. They obviously aren't as good in the winter but for salted roads, I've had no issues.

·
Registered
814 Posts