Jaguar Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got the amber warning DPF full few days ago.
My car was sitting for over a year because I was doing an engine rebuild and I have covered about 400miles since it’s back to life.

my impression was you just take it to relatively long trip and you are fine but 20-30mins trips at speeds below 50mph didn’t help. I even cleared the code and it came back after some miles.

Since I started playing with SDD I could see the forced DPF regen function. Today I tried it. First you have to take it on the road. So needs a laptop with a healthy battery that can last 1hr atleast and an assistant for safety. The instructions says it takes 15mins but it took 60mins in my case. I could see a live reading of mass of DPF contamination (cannot remember the correct term). The instructions says click the button after reading is below 6grams. First off it was 45grams! It was about mid way on the indicator on screen with top being 140 (not sure why it wasn’t linear)
Running at high revs didn’t seem to help nor driving around 40mph. For first 20-30mins I could smell it and feel the change in exhaust sound but the number didn’t drop at all and in some occasions it increased!
Then I headed to an A road and set it on CC at 60mph. Barely helped but it dropped to 38grams. At this point I realised that when the car goes downhill the reading drops but when I go uphill or accelerate it doesn’t. So I started simulating this. I accelerated for few seconds and left the pedal to roll. Using this method the reading dropped below 25gr In 5mins when the warning also cleared! ( it should have been below 6). I continued Another 30mins until I reached 3.8gr because I was away from home and I continued until I got home.

I have some recommendations based on my experience today: