Jaguar Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend parked her car near to mine the other day and when we were getting in it to go out in it, she put her phone on, and her car Bluetooth tried to pair with my car! I’m new to Bluetooth and only just started using an iPhone, but having looked at google I think I may be open to hacking? Is there any way I can stop it doing this and does this mean car is using power to emit this signal?
Ian

·
Super Moderator
30,287 Posts
Never known a car to pair to another car.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: PeteA

·
Registered
8,572 Posts
Agree with both of the above and would also ponder what kind of 'hacking' of your car would be achievable via Bluetooth?..

Why/how do you think that her car was trying to pair with your car Ian?

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Think you would still need a 4 digit code that you input into your car so not totally open.
4 digit code? What’s that? . I don’t put any code in… Bluetooth works fine to my phone. Going to have to have a look at the manual….

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Agree with both of the above and would also ponder what kind of 'hacking' of your car would be achievable via Bluetooth?..

Why/how do you think that her car was trying to pair with your car Ian?
I’m not sure either, but google suggests it’s possible…

Her screen came up with something akin to ‘ searching for Ian’s phone ‘ can’t remember exactly, as I sort of panicked and asked her to switch off.. she is visiting again today, will have a better look…my phone was nowhere near the car, just my car near her car…interestingly it was she that gave me the iPhone I am using Could it be that, recognising the imei or some such? As you can see I have no idea. Will have a look at my manual…

·
Registered
8,572 Posts
The probability of anyone hacking your car via Bluetooth is likely less than absolute zero Ian, so don't panic.. :)